Statesman Dinner

The annual Statesman Dinner is a unique event that brings together a diverse group of business, civic, and elected leaders from around the state and across the political spectrum. It is Oregon’s signature political dinner attracting national speakers such as Senator John McCain, columnist David Broder, Senator Chris Dodd, Congressman Paul Ryan, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewel, and journalist Shankar Vedantam.

This Year’s Event

Tuesday, October 10
Oregon Convention Center
777 NE Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Portland, OR 97232
General Reception  6:00PM
Dinner and Program 7:00PM

Keynote Speaker: Susan O’Malley

Susan O’Malley was the first the first female president of a major professional sports franchise. O’Malley, currently a senior instructor of sport and entertainment management at the University of South Carolina, became president of the NBA’s Washington Bullets (now Wizards) in 1991 at the age of 29. She eventually added oversight of the Washington Capitals NHL team, Washington Mystics WNBA team and Verizon Center arena to her responsibilities as president of Washington Sports Entertainment before leaving the company.

To reserve a table or buy individual tickets for the Statesman Dinner, click here.


Statesman of the Year

The highlight of the event is the Statesman of the Year award, presented in recognition of extraordinary achievements for public service, consensus building and forging collaborative solutions to critical issues facing Oregon.

Previous Honorees


  • U.S. Senator Ron Wyden
  • U.S. Senator Gordon Smith


  • Governor Vic Atiyeh
  • Governor John Kitzhaber


  • Jack McGowan


  • Mark O. Hatfield


  • Governor Barbara Roberts


  • Senator Margaret Carter
  • David Frohnmayer


  • Senator Frank Morse
  • Ken Thrasher


    • Mayor Vera Katz


  • Senator Lynn Lundquist


  • Gun Denhart
  • Representative Greg MacPherson


  • Gert Boyle


  • Representative Bruce Hanna
  • Representative Arnie Roblan

2012: Health Care Heroes

  • Commissioner Tammy Baney
  • Sen. Alan Bates
  • Dr. George Brown
  • Dr. Bob Dannenhoffer
  • Rep. Tim Freeman
  • Megan Haase
  • Rep. Tina Kotek
  • Andrew McCulloc
  • Dr. Joe Robertson
  • Lillian Shirley
  • Greg Van Pelt


Sue Levin


Phil & Penny Knight & the Knight Cancer Challenge


U.S. Senator Ron Wyden


Representative Vic Gilliam